The Executive Branch

The executive power shall be vested in a President of the United States of America. He shall hold his Office during the term of four years together with the Vice President, chosen for the same term. Constitution, Article II, Section 1.

The Constitution establishes three minimum requirements in order to be elected president: 1) the president must be a natural born citizen of the United States, 2) the president must have lived in the United States for at least fourteen years, and 3) the president must be at least thirty-five years old. The President's power to veto acts as a check on the legislative branch.

The Executive Branch includes the president, the vice-president, the cabinet, and other departments, agencies and institutions which assist the President. Article II, Section 2 of the Constitution identifies the powers of the president, which include overseeing the military as Commander in Chief and granting pardons and reprieves to persons convicted of federal crimes, except in cases of impeachment. In addition, with the advice and consent of the Senate, the President can make treaties with other countries, and make appointments of judges of the Supreme Court, ambassadors and foreign consuls, cabinet officers, agency heads and regulatory commissioners.

Learn more about the Executive Branch.