Separation of Powers

The Framers of the Constitution feared concentration of power in any one person or governmental entity. To prevent that from occurring, the Framers created a system of checks and balances where power is divided among different branches of the government. The Constitution established three separate but equal branches of government: the legislative branch, which passes the laws; the executive branch, which administers the laws; and the judicial branch, which interprets the laws.

To learn more about the concept of Separation of Powers, go here or here.

A table depicting the checks and balances provided under the Constitution can be found here.


Naturalization Proceedings
We welcomed 100 new citizens.
Friday, September 28, 2018

Constitution Day at Memorial Stadium
Saturday, September 15, 2018

Annual Constitution Day Program at the Dole Institute of Politics
Tuesday, September 18, 2018

Event Details

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today