KU Constitution Day Celebration

Snapshot of the consitution

Separation of Powers

The Framers of the Constitution feared concentration of power in any one person or governmental entity. To prevent that from occurring, the Framers created a system of checks and balances where power is divided among different branches of the government. The Constitution established three separate but equal branches of government: the legislative branch, which passes the laws; the executive branch, which administers the laws; and the judicial branch, which interprets the laws.

To learn more about the concept of Separation of Powers, go here or here.

A table depicting the checks and balances provided under the Constitution can be found here.

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, retaliation, gender identity, gender expression and genetic information in the University’s programs and activities. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies and is the University’s Title IX Coordinator: the Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity and Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 W. Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS, 66045, (785)864-6414, 711 TTY.